Advances in Structural Engineering

Editors-in-Chief: Professor J.G. Teng & Dr. Y. Xia
published 12 [frequency increased] • ISSN 1369-4332 • 2015 journal prices/format options
2015 is volume 18

Indexed in (among others): SCOPUS; SCI; Compendex


Aims and Scope

Advances in Structural Engineering aims to provide a major publication channel for cutting-edge research on civil engineering structures (e.g. bridges, buildings and offshore platforms) in areas of significant current interest to the international structural engineering community. The current focus areas of the journal, which are periodically reviewed by the editors, are as follows:

(a) Structural use of composite and other emerging materials;
(b) Behavior of structural systems;
(c) Structures under extreme conditions (e.g. earthquakes, strong winds, fires and blasts etc.);
(d) Performance-based structural engineering;
(e) Life-cycle structural engineering;
(f) Structural health monitoring for performance assessment; and
(g) Sustainability in structural engineering.

Notwithstanding these focus areas, papers of significant impact or lasting value in other areas of structural engineering are also welcome. Acceptance of a paper for publication in the journal is subjected to the manuscript being an unpublished work presenting a significant original contribution or an in-depth state-of-the-art review of a specific topic of significant current interest to the journal’s readership. Apart from full-length papers, short technical notes, discussions, and book reviews may also be published.


click here to view abstacts from Advances in Structural Engineering...


Advances in Structural Engineering RSS feed


back to top


main page

subscribe to ASE


Professor J.G. Teng & Dr. Y. Xia
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University


Advisory Editors

Prof. M. Anson and Prof. J.M. Ko



Dr. J.G. Dai, Prof. S.S. Law and Dr. S. Zhu


Associate Editors

Dr. T.M. Chan, Dr. S.R. Chen, Dr. D. Fernando, Dr. B. Glisic, W.M. Quach, Dr. S.H. Sim, Dr. T. Yu and Dr. X.Q. Zhu


International Advisory Board

Prof. D.P. Abrams
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA

Prof. W.F. Chen
University of Hawaii at Manoa, USA

Prof. M.S. Cheung
Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, China

Prof. S.L. Dong
Zhejiang University, China

Prof. Y. Fujino
University of Tokyo, Japan

Prof. G.J. Hancock
University of Sydney, Australia

Prof. S. Kitipornchai
University of Queensland, Australia

Prof. Y.C. Loo
Griffith University, Australia

Prof. Z.T. Lu
Southeast University, China

Prof. J. Mander
Texas A&M University, USA

Prof. D.A. Nethercot
Imperial College, UK

Prof. J.P. Ou
Harbin Institute of Technology, China

Prof. N. Rajapakse
Simon Fraser University, Canada

Prof. J.M. Rotter
University of Edinburgh, UK

Prof. Z.Y. Shen
Tongji University, China

Prof. Y. Tamura
Tokyo Institute of Polytechnics, Japan

Prof. T. Ueda
Hokkaido University, Japan

Prof. Y.B. Yang
National Taiwan University, China

Prof. W.Q. Zhu
Zhejiang University, China


International Editorial Board

Prof. L.C. Bank
City College of New York, USA

Prof. M.A. Bradford
University of New South Wales, Australia

Prof. J.M.W. Brownjohn
University of Exeter, UK

Prof. C.S. Cai
Louisiana State University, USA

Prof. F. Casciati
University of Pavia, Italy

Prof. G.D. Chen
Missouri University of Science & Technology, USA

Prof. J.F. Chen
Queen’s University Belfast, UK

Prof. A. Combescure
LMC-INSA Lyon, France

Prof. L. De Lorenzis
Technical University of Braunschweig, Germany

Prof. Y.J. Ge
Tongji University, China

Prof. M. Gu
Tongji University, China

Prof. L.H. Han
Tsinghua University, China

Prof. H. Hao
University of Western Australia, Australia

Prof. J.W. Ju
University of California at Los Angeles, USA

Prof. A.K.H. Kwan
University of Hong Kong, China

Prof. K.C.S. Kwok
University of Western Sydney, Australia Prof.

G.Q. Li
Tongji University, China

Prof. H. Li
Harbin Institute of Technology, China

Prof. Z.J. Li
Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, China

Prof. Y. Lu
University of Edinburgh, UK

Prof. A. Mirmiran
Florida International University, USA

Prof. A. Nanni
University of Miami, USA

Prof. D.J. Oehlers
University of Adelaide, Australia

Prof. G. Solari
University of Genova Via Montallegro, Italy

Prof. H. Sohn
Korea Advanced Institute of Science

and Technology, Korea
Prof. B.F. Spencer

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA

Prof. I. Takewaki
Kyoto University, Japan

Prof. A. Usmani
University of Edinburgh, UK

Prof. Y. Xiao
Hunan University, China

Prof. Z.S. Wu
Ibaraki University, Japan

Prof. B. Young
University of Hong Kong, China

Prof. X.L. Zhao
Monash University, Australia

to submit papers...

papers should be submitted via ASE's online system: advancesin structuralengineering. com/index