International Journal of Aeroacoustics

editor: Dr Ganesh Raman, Illinois Institute of Technology, Chicago
published 8 time a year [frequency increased] • ISSN 1475 472 X2015 journal prices/format options
2015 is volume 14

Now indexed in Science Citation Index - Engineering

Indexed in (among others): Inspec; International Aerospace Abstracts; CSA Mechanical & Transportation; Engineering Abstracts, Scopus


Aeroacoustics is a growing area and has received fresh emphasis due to advances in air, ground and space transportation. Significant advances in aeroacoustics are required for reducing community and cabin noise from subsonic aircraft and to prepare for the possible large scale entry of supersonic aircraft into civil aviation. The use of high thrust producing engines on military aircraft has raised numerous concerns about exposure of aircraft carrier personnel and sonic fatigue failure of aircraft structures. In the ground transportation arena efforts are currently under way to minimize the aerodynamic noise from automobiles and high speed trains. Finally, space launch vehicle noise if uncontrolled can cause serious structural damage to the spacecraft and payload. In addition, with the proliferation of space flight, launch vehicle noise can also become a significant environmental issue. It has become increasingly important to address all of the above noise issues in order to minimize the noise impact of advances in transportation. New research needs to be conducted and effectively communicated, in order to meet higher levels of noise certification and to pre-empt further regulatory burdens.

The topic is, of course, not new. But it has been the case that published aeroacoustics research has been scattered among numerous journals and conference proceedings, not all of them readily accessible. It is in order to draw this work together in one publication, and to reflect the growing importance of the subject, that the International Journal of Aeroacoustics has been established.

The International Journal of Aeroacoustics will publish developments in all areas of fundamental and applied aeroacoustics. Fundamental topics include advances in understanding aeroacoustics phenomena; applied topics include all aspects of civil and military aircraft, automobile and high speed train aeroacoustics, and the impact of acoustics on structures. As well as original contributions, state of the art reviews and surveys will be published.

Subtopics include, among others, jet mixing noise; screech tones; broadband shock associated noise and methods for suppression; the near-ground acoustic environment of Short Take-Off and Vertical Landing (STOVL) aircraft; weapons bay aeroacoustics, cavity acoustics, closed-loop feedback control of aeroacoustic phenomena; computational aeroacoustics including high fidelity numerical simulations, and analytical acoustics.

The Editor, Ganesh Raman, is ably supported in his work by a distinguished editorial board. These leading figures assist him in the thorough peer-review process, which ensures that only the highest quality work is published in the International journal of Aeroacoustics.


click here to view abstacts from The International Journal of Aeroacoustics...


International Journal of Aeroacoustics RSS


back to top


main page

subscribe to IJA

instructions to authors

to submit papers...

click below to contact the editor, Dr Raman, directly:

International Journal of Aeroacoustics editorial board

Dr. Ganesh Raman
International Journal of Aeroacoustics,
Mechanical, Materials and Aerospace Engineering, Illinois Institute of Technology, Chicago, IL 60616, USA
Phone: (+1) 312-567-3554
Fax: (+1) 312-567-7230
E-mail: (correspondence)

editorial board - north america
Dr. Srinivasan Arunajatesan, Sandia National Laboratories (USA)

Dr. Thomas Brooks NASA Langley Research Center.(USA)

Dr. Alan B. Cain Innovative Technology Applications Company (USA)

Dr. Edmane Envia NASA Glenn Research Center (USA)

Dr. Stewart Glegg Florida Atlantic University (USA)

Dr. Marvin E. Goldstein NASA Glenn Research Center (USA)

Dr. Michael S. Howe Boston University (USA)

Dr. Edward Kerschen University of Arizona (USA)

Dr. Valdis Kibens The Boeing Company (USA)

Dr. Anastasios S. Lyrintzis Purdue University (USA)

Dr. Reda R. Mankbadi Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University (USA)

Dr. Lourdes Q. Maurice Federal Aviation Administration (USA)

Dr. Dennis K. McLaughlin Pennsylvania State University (USA)

Dr. Jeffrey M. Mendoza
United Technologies Research Center (USA)

Dr. Luc Mongeau Mc Gill University (Canada)

Dr. Philip J. Morris Pennsylvania State University (USA)

Dr. Anthony R. Pilon Lockhead - Martin (USA)

Dr. Alan Powell University of Houston (USA)

Dr. Simon Richards General Electric Research (USA)

Mr Paul T. Soderman NASA Ames Research Center (Retired) (USA)

Dr. K. Viswanathan The Boeing Company (USA)

editorial board - europe
Dr. Ingo U. Borchers DaimlerChrysler Research and Technology (Germany)

Dr. Harry H. Brouwer National Aerospace Laboratory (Netherlands)

Dr. Luis B. Campos ISR Instituto Superior Téchnico (Portugal)

Dr. Jan Delfs DLR (Germany)

Dr. Charles Hirsch Vrije Universiteit Brussels (Belgium)

Dr. Peter Jordan LEA - CNRS, University of Poitiers, ENSMA (France)

Dr. Daniel Juvé École Centrale de Lyon (France)

Dr. Victor F. Kopiev Acoustic Division of Central Aerohydrodynamics Institute (Russia)

Dr. Tatiana Kozubskaya Institute for Mathematical Modeling (Russia)

Dr. Pierre Lempereur Airbus (France)

Dr. Luigi Morino University Roma Tre (Italy)

Dr. Nigel Peake Cambridge University (United Kingdom)

Dr. Christoph Reichl Arsenal Research (Austria)

Dr. Wolfgang Schroeder RWTH Aachen University (Germany)

Dr. Xin Zhang University of Southampton (United Kingdom)

editorial board - asia
Dr. A.R. Acharya
Indian Institute of Science (India)

Dr. Xun Huang
Peking University (China)

Dr. Junjiro Iwamoto
Tokyo Denki University (Japan)

Dr. Shojiro Kaji
Teikyo University (Japan)

Dr. Randolph C.K. Leung
Hong Kong Polytechnic University (Hong Kong)

Dr. Xiaodong Li
Beihang University (China)

Dr. Young J. Moon
Korea University, Seoul (Korea)

Dr. M. Ravindranath Nayak
National Aerospace Laboratories (India)

Dr. K. Srinivasan
Indian Institute of Technology Madras (India)

editorial board - australia
Dr. Daniel Edgington-Mitchell
Monash University (Australia)